People

Research staff

Dr. rer. nat. W.D. (Daniel) Kissling

Head of BIOMAC lab & Associate Professor of Quantitative Biodiversity

Macroecology, ecological informatics, global biodiversity change

Email: wdkissling@gmail.com
Phone: +31 (0)20 525 8423

 

Dr. A.C. (Harry) Seijmonsbergen

Assistant Professor

Geomorphology, geodiversity, remote sensing, natural hazards, LiDAR

Email: A.C.Seijmonsbergen@uva.nl
Phone: +31 (0)20 5258137

 

Dr. K.F. (Kenneth) Rijsdijk

Assistant Professor

Island biogeography, geodiversity, geology

Email: K.F.Rijsdijk@uva.nl
Phone: +31 (0)20 5258288

Further information

 

Prof. Dr. M.D. (Marc) Davidson

Lecturer

Environmental ethics, environmental economics

Email: M.D.Davidson@uva.nl
Phone: +31 (0)20 5257379

 

Further information

 

Postdoctoral researchers

Dr. J.Y. (Jun) Lim

Postdoc (University of Amsterdam)

Macroevolution, macroecology, community ecology, biogeography, phylogenetics, tropical plants

Email: junyinglim@gmail.com

 

Dr. M. (Michael) Ørsted

Postdoc (external, Aalborg University, Denmark)

Ecology, evolution, species distribution modelling

Email: moer@bio.aau.dk

 

Dr. L.P. (Lilian) Sales

Postdoc (external, Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brazil)

Biodiversity redistribution, climate change, macroecology, species interactions, ecological niche models

Email: lilianpsales@gmail.com

Further information

 

 

Dr. B. (Babak) Naimi

Postdoc (University of Amsterdam)

Remote sensing, spatio-temporal statistics, spatial modelling, geo-informatics and environmental science

Email: naimi.b@gmail.com

 

PhD students

Z.V. (Zsófia) Koma

PhD student (University of Amsterdam)

LiDAR, GIS, remote sensing

Email: Z.V.Koma@uva.nl

 

S.J. (Sietze) Norder

PhD student (University of Amsterdam and University of Lisbon, Portugal)

Island biogeography, human-environment interactions, social-ecological systems

Email: sjnorder@fc.ul.pt

 

S.-L. (Samantha) Jamison

PhD student (external and visiting, based at University of Pretoria, South Africa)

Bush encroachment, frugivory, succession, ecological networks

Email: samanthajamison07@gmail.com

Further information

 

L. (Larissa) Nowak

PhD student (external, based at Senckenberg Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre, Germany)

Functional diversity, mutualistic networks, ecosystem functioning, tropical ecology, climate change

Email: larissa.nowak@senckenberg.de

Further information

 

MSc students

J. (Jorin) Veen

MSc student

Macroecology, plant-frugivore interactions, primatology

Email: jorin.veen@student.uva.nl

Further information

 

M.J.S. (Sebastiaan) Haverhoek

MSc student

Plant ecology, environmental filtering, functional traits, functional diversity

Email: management.organisatie@gmail.com

Further information

 

R. (Rick) de Regt

MSc student

Paleoecology, conservation and management, species distribution modelling

Email: rickderegt@quicknet.nl

Further information

 

Q.D. (Quinten) Mudde

MSc student

Macroecology, population dynamics, herpetology, distribution modelling

Email: quintenmudde@hotmail.com

Further information

 

L. (Luca) Rieger

MSc student

Biodiversity, ecology, morphology, genetics

Email: Luca.rieger@me.com

Further information

 

E.M.N. (Emma) Polman

MSc student

GIS & remote sensing, abiotic-biotic interactions, spatial data analysis, bio-geochemical cycles

Email: emma.polman@student.uva.nl

Further information

 

J.P.R. (Reinier) de Vries

MSc student

Environmental and ecosystem dynamics

Email: vries.reinier@gmail.com

Further information

 

P.J. (Pablo) Varas Enríquez

MSc student

Macrecology, evolutionary demography, human behavioral ecology, evolutionary anthropology

Email: pjvarase@gmail.com

Further information

 

Former lab members

  • L. (Leila) Meyer (visiting PhD student from Universidade Federal de Goiás, Brazil). Research interests in diversity patterns, plant ecology and macroecology. CV. Email: leilameyer08@gmail.com

  • J. (Jim) Groot (MSc student 2017-2018). Research interests in remote sensing, GIS, LiDAR, and modelling. ResearchGate, GitHub, Linkedin, Facebook. Email: dude.jimmy@gmail.com

  • Dr. R.E. (Renske) Onstein (Postdoc 2016-2018). Research interests in macroevolution, functional traits, comparative biology, phylogenetics, angiosperms and evolutionary radiations. Email: onsteinre@gmail.com. Personal website, Google Scholar, ResearchGate, Vimeo, Youtube, Twitter, Linkedin

  • T. (Tristan) Bakx (MSc student 2017-2018). Research interests in bird ecology, behaviour and LiDAR. Email: tristan.bakx@hotmail.com.

  • I.M.A. (Irene) Bender (PhD student 2013-2018). Research interests in tropical ecology, functional diversity, ecological networks. Email: bender.ima@gmail.com. ResearchGate

  • J.H. (Julia) Heinen (MSc student, 2016-2017). Research interest in islands, macroecology, species interactions, extinction and conservation. Email: juliaheinen@hotmail.com. Personal website and ResearchGate

  • D.N. (Daphne) Vink (MSc student 2016-2017). Research interest in primates, functional traits, evolution, conservation, species interactions. Email: daphne.vink@student.uva.nl. Facebook

  • Gabriel Muñoz (MSc student 2016-2017). Research interest in biogeography, conservation and computational ecology. Email: fgabriel1891@gmail.com. Personal website, Github and ResearchGate

  • A.J. (Aurisel) Mata Velasquez (MSc student 2017). Research interest in Earth observation, GIS, remote sensing, environmental management and geo-ecology. Email: aurisel.mata@gmail.com