People

Research staff

Dr. rer. nat. W.D. (Daniel) Kissling

Associate Professor of Quantitative Biodiversity

Macroecology, biodiversity, global change

Email: wdkissling@gmail.com
Phone: +31 (0)20 525 8423

 

Dr. A.C. (Harry) Seijmonsbergen

Assistant Professor

Geomorphology, geodiversity, remote sensing, natural hazards, LiDAR

Email: A.C.Seijmonsbergen@uva.nl
Phone: +31 (0)20 5258137

 

Dr. K.F. (Kenneth) Rijsdijk

Assistant Professor

Insular biogeography, geodiversity, geology

Email: K.F.Rijsdijk@uva.nl
Phone: +31 (0)20 5258288

Further information

 

Prof. Dr. M.D. (Marc) Davidson

Lecturer

Environmental ethics, environmental economics

Email: M.D.Davidson@uva.nl
Phone: +31 (0)20 5257379

Further information

 

Support staff

Dr. rer. nat. W.M. (Thijs) de Boer

Manager GIS studio

Geomorphology, LiDAR, paleo-dating, GIS

Email: w.m.deboer@uva.nl
Phone: +31 (0)20 5257665

Further information

 

Postdoctoral researchers

Dr. R.E. (Renske) Onstein

Postdoc (University of Amsterdam)

Macroevolution, functional traits, comparative biology, phylogenetics, angiosperms, evolutionary radiations

Email: onsteinre@gmail.com

PhD students

Z.V. (Zsófia) Koma

PhD student (University of Amsterdam)

LiDAR, GIS, remote sensing

Email: Z.V.Koma@uva.nl

 

S.J. (Sietze) Norder

PhD student (external, based at University of Lisbon, Portugal)

Island biogeography, human-environment interactions, social-ecological systems

Email: sjnorder@fc.ul.pt

 

S.-L. (Samantha) Jamison

PhD student (external, based at University of Pretoria, South Africa)

Bush encroachment, frugivory, succession, ecological networks

Email: samanthajamison07@gmail.com

Further information

 

I.M.A. (Irene) Bender

PhD student (external, based at Senckenberg Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre, Germany)

Tropical ecology, functional diversity, ecological networks

Email: bender.ima@gmail.com

Further information

 

L. (Larissa) Nowak

PhD student (external, based at Senckenberg Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre, Germany)

Functional diversity, mutualistic networks, ecosystem functioning, tropical ecology, climate change

Email: larissa.nowak@senckenberg.de

Further information

 

MSc students

T. (Tristan) Bakx

MSc student

Bird ecology and behaviour, LiDAR

Email: tristan.bakx@hotmail.com

Further information

 

J. (Jim) Groot

MSc student

Remote sensing, GIS, LiDAR, modelling

Email: jim.groot@student.uva.nl

Further information

 

J.H. (Julia) Heinen

MSc student

Islands, macroecology, species interactions, extinction, conservation

Email: juliaheinen@hotmail.com

Further information

 

D.N. (Daphne) Vink

MSc student

Primates, functional traits, evolution, conservation, species interactions

Email: daphne.vink@student.uva.nl

Further information

 

Former lab members

  • Gabriel Muñoz (MSc student 2016-2017). Research interest in biogeography, conservation and computational ecology. Email: fgabriel1891@gmail.com. Personal website, Github and ResearchGate

  • A.J. (Aurisel) Mata Velasquez (MSc student 2017). Research interest in Earth observation, GIS, remote sensing, environmental management and geo-ecology. Email: aurisel.mata@gmail.com.