People

Research staff

Dr. rer. nat. W.D. (Daniel) Kissling

Head of BIOMAC lab & Associate Professor of Quantitative Biodiversity

Macroecology, biodiversity, global change

Email: wdkissling@gmail.com
Phone: +31 (0)20 525 8423

 

Dr. A.C. (Harry) Seijmonsbergen

Assistant Professor

Geomorphology, geodiversity, remote sensing, natural hazards, LiDAR

Email: A.C.Seijmonsbergen@uva.nl
Phone: +31 (0)20 5258137

 

Dr. K.F. (Kenneth) Rijsdijk

Assistant Professor

Insular biogeography, geodiversity, geology

Email: K.F.Rijsdijk@uva.nl
Phone: +31 (0)20 5258288

Further information

 

Prof. Dr. M.D. (Marc) Davidson

Lecturer

Environmental ethics, environmental economics

Email: M.D.Davidson@uva.nl
Phone: +31 (0)20 5257379

 

Further information

 

Postdoctoral researchers

Dr. B. (Babak) Naimi

Postdoc (University of Amsterdam)

Remote sensing, spatio-temporal statistics, spatial modelling, geo-informatics, environmental science

Email: naimi.b@gmail.com

 

PhD students

Z.V. (Zsófia) Koma

PhD student (University of Amsterdam)

LiDAR, GIS, remote sensing

Email: Z.V.Koma@uva.nl

 

S.J. (Sietze) Norder

PhD student (external, based at University of Lisbon, Portugal)

Island biogeography, human-environment interactions, social-ecological systems

Email: sjnorder@fc.ul.pt

 

S.-L. (Samantha) Jamison

PhD student (external, based at University of Pretoria, South Africa)

Bush encroachment, frugivory, succession, ecological networks

Email: samanthajamison07@gmail.com

Further information

 

L. (Larissa) Nowak

PhD student (external, based at Senckenberg Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre, Germany)

Functional diversity, mutualistic networks, ecosystem functioning, tropical ecology, climate change

Email: larissa.nowak@senckenberg.de

Further information

 

MSc students

M.V. (Maurits) Kruisheer

MSc student

Remote sensing, GIS, modelling

Email: mauritskruisheer@live.nl

Further information

 

J. (Jim) Groot

MSc student

Remote sensing, GIS, LiDAR, modelling

Email: jim.groot@student.uva.nl

Further information

 

P.J. (Pablo) Varas Enríquez

MSc student

Macrecology, evolutionary demography, human behavioral ecology, evolutionary anthropology

Email: pjvarase@gmail.com

Further information

 

Former lab members

  • Dr. R.E. (Renske) Onstein (Postdoc 2016-2018). Research interests in macroevolution, functional traits, comparative biology, phylogenetics, angiosperms and evolutionary radiations. Email: onsteinre@gmail.com. Personal website, Google Scholar, ResearchGate, Vimeo, Youtube, Twitter, Linkedin

  • T. (Tristan) Bakx (MSc student 2017-2018). Research interests in bird ecology, behaviour and LiDAR. Email: tristan.bakx@hotmail.com.

  • I.M.A. (Irene) Bender (PhD student 2013-2018). Research interests in tropical ecology, functional diversity, ecological networks. Email: bender.ima@gmail.com. ResearchGate

  • J.H. (Julia) Heinen (MSc student, 2016-2017). Research interest in islands, macroecology, species interactions, extinction and conservation. Email: juliaheinen@hotmail.com. Personal website and ResearchGate

  • D.N. (Daphne) Vink (MSc student 2016-2017). Research interest in primates, functional traits, evolution, conservation, species interactions. Email: daphne.vink@student.uva.nl. Facebook

  • Gabriel Muñoz (MSc student 2016-2017). Research interest in biogeography, conservation and computational ecology. Email: fgabriel1891@gmail.com. Personal website, Github and ResearchGate

  • A.J. (Aurisel) Mata Velasquez (MSc student 2017). Research interest in Earth observation, GIS, remote sensing, environmental management and geo-ecology. Email: aurisel.mata@gmail.com